Navigation
Home Page

Year 6

Be kind and loving to each other. Forgive each other the same as God forgave you in Christ.

Ephesians 4:32

Picture 1

Welcome to the Year 6 webpage

 

Mrs McQuiggan, Mrs Johnson and Mr Trayer welcome you to the Year 6 webpage. We look forward to showing you all of the wonderful things that happen in our class throughout the year.

 

General Information

 

Autumn Term 2018

 

The school day begins with registration at 8:55am and we really appreciate prompt time-keeping to get the children off to a good start. Each day we begin with reinforcing basic skills in Maths and English so it is vital that your child is in on time and ready to learn.

 

Reading diaries should be signed each night and will be checked on a Friday. Please spend time discussing the book that your child brings home with them. We also encourage the children to read a range of other texts in addition to their home-school reading book. We would be grateful if you could comment on other books that your child reads at home.

 

Homework:

Monday: Reading Comprehension - to be returned on Wednesday

Tuesday: Times Tables – to be returned Wednesday

Wednesday: Arithmetic – to be returned Friday

Friday: Grammar – to be returned the following Monday

 

Spellings will be given out on Monday and tested on Friday.

 

P.E.

During the Autumn Term, the children will participate in swimming as part of their P.E lessons. This will take place on a Thursday and children will need full swimming kits, including goggles. Earrings may not be worn.

Important Dates

 

Tuesday 4th September

School begins

Tuesday 4th-Friday 7th September

Keeping Safe week

Wednesday 12th September

Polling Day for School Council

Friday 14th September

Mission Day

Monday 17th September

The Feast of St Robert Bellarmine

Friday 21st September

Mass to celebrate the Feast of St Robert Bellarmine

Friday 21st September

NCPCC assembly and workshop

Wednesday 26th September

Play in a Day – World War Two

Friday 28th September

Macmillan Coffee Morning

Friday 5th October

Trip to Moel Famau

Monday 8th-Friday 12th October

Healthy Lunch week

Friday 12th October

Non-uniform day – unwanted gifts

Monday 15th October

Pupil Progress meetings

Wednesday 17th October

DT morning

Friday 19th October

Break up for half term

Polling Day

Place Value Game

St Robert Bellarmine Feast Day Mass

NSPCC Assembly and Workshop

School Nurse Visit

E-Safety with Mr Melia

Science Investigation

Top